Nerd Alert: The Residents

Sorry guys, I know it’s pretty late and I’m running out of time for my weekly Tuesday Nerd Alert, but I honestly forgot what day it was! Why was that? I was busy discovering a band that is pretty much the nerdiest and coolest thing to ever come out of Louisiana. That band is The Residents. Like most nerds, they have a ridiculously prolific amount of work, and have been rocking out with costumes, computers, and freaky videos since the late 60s, never once taking a break from it all. Inspired by Captain Beefheart and Sun Ra, The Residents picked up some instruments even though they didn’t know how to play, and having been kicking ass ever since.

zap_resident

That’s them in their rad trademark eyeball costumes. They used these, among other disguises, to remain anonymous for decades. Decades! They barely granted interviews and never went out in public without being disguised, all while making over sixty albums, three cd-roms, ten dvds, and several musical short films, AND went on seven world tours. That, my friends, is devotion to an art project and is so incredibly dorky and awesome I can barely take it.

I particularly enjoy their “one minute movies” that have some interesting animation and the music to fit along perfectly. It’s not your typical stuff and a lot of people might dismiss it right away as creepy and weird, but hey, this is a nerd alert. If I wasn’t posting this sort of stuff I’d be letting you down. I hope you all can give it a chance and enjoy :)

If you look them up on youtube you will understand why I spent the entire day consumed by this band. These videos are endless.

The obligatory shaky camera live performance, just because it’s ace

x-posted to McJAWN

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

