Nicest Thing

“I wish you couldn’t figure me out, but you’d always wanna know what I was about. I wish you had a favorite beauty spot that you loved secretly cause it was on a hidden bit that nobody else could see.”

Even when I’m not sad this song breaks my heart. It’s like every girl’s thoughts ever compiled into one song. It’s wanting love, straight up and down, so badly it hurts. The simplicity of her lyrics along with the stripped down accompaniment adds to the combination of equal openness and vulnerability. She is saying so much in such a small way, with such a timid manner. It’s like a restrained flood. I can relate.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

